Homeward bound

I am finally shoving off today. I adore London, and I wish I could’ve had more time to see more of it. As it is, I am exhausted from travelling and living out of a suitcase. I miss my house and my Mike. Yesterday I had almost no energy to go out after I came home from my 2 hour walk. I laid around the hotel room, read a book, and after dark I went for a little walk and then got some take away curry. I watched a little BBC on the telly and read a book until I fell asleep. I have an incredibly long day ahead of me. I can’t even tally how much time it will take me because I’ll be gaining hours as I go. I have to leave my hotel at 11am, my plane takes off at 3:20pm, and I arrive in Portland at 11pm.  I have about a 2hour layover in Chicago, too. Oh well, I’ve got a book and I can look at it as relaxation time.

Anyhoo, I’m showered, packed and ready to go. I have to wait around a bit so I’m not at the airport too early. I’m going to grab some coffee and read the paper.

Oh yeah, one thing I really need at home is an electric kettle. This thing is so great! Fill it with water, push a little button and in 2 minutes you’ve got boiling water. It’s amazing. I also need to buy a case of Lemon Fanta, which we don’t have in the States, but it’s delicious. I have a few pounds left to spend this morning (not enough to justify paying a fee on exchanging it back to USD). I’m going to stock up on british candy, which makes great stocking stuffers.

So Ciao for now. I may update from O’Hare if they’ve got free wifi. Otherwise, I’ll see you in Portland!

3 responses to “Homeward bound

  1. Fantastic! I have really enjoyed reading all about it as it happened. And damn those PC police! I’ll look forward to seeing you in person sometime soon

  2. There is definitely lemon Fanta on the east coast!! It’s in the bodegas. You can probably order it from home!! ❤

  3. Thanks Anne for sharing your trip and your thoughts about the places you visited. It was a fascinating look at how travel changes and influences both us and places we visit. Well done!! And I agree – you should not have to self censor.

Leave a Reply

